Back to all posts

Lin, Lake and Lee selected for 2023 PNGA Morse Cup Team

Chuan-Tai “Teddy” Lin of New Taipei City, Taiwan, Jackson Lake of Corvallis, Ore. and James Lee of Burlingame, Calif. were selected to represent the Pacific Northwest Golf Association at this year’s Morse Cup team competition, which takes place simultaneously with the 56th Pacific Coast Amateur Championship being held this week at Capilano Golf and Country Club in West Vancouver, B.C. 

The 2023 Pacific Coast Amateur is being held July 25-28, with the Morse Cup competition taking place during the first two days of the 72-hole competition. There are 15 teams in the competition, one from each of the 15 golf associations that make up the Pacific Coast Golf Association. Two of the top three scores from each team in rounds one and two of the championship count for the Morse Cup portion of the event. 

Meet the PNGA Morse Cup Team 

Chuan-Tai “Teddy” Lin of New Taipei City, Taiwan 

  • Rising Senior on the University of Washington men’s golf team 
  • Currently ranked No. 111 in WAGR 
  • Made the Round of 16 at the 2023 North and South Amateur 
  • Finished 12th at the Sunnehanna Amateur 

Jackson Lake of Corvallis, Ore. 

  • Just finished his senior year on the Oregon State University men’s golf team 
  • Competed in all 12 tournaments during his senior season with two top-10 finishes 
  • Currently ranked No. 764 in WAGR 

James Lee of Burlingame, Calif. 

  • Two-time defending BC Junior Boys Champion (2022-23) 
  • Won the 2023 Northern California Junior Championship 
  • Played in the 2022 U.S. Junior Amateur 


The Pacific Coast Amateur is one of seven premier amateur championships that make up the Elite Amateur Golf Series (EAGS), in which players earn World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) points and compete for the Elite Amateur Cup, with top finishers earning exemptions into USGA Championships, as well as PGA TOUR and Korn Ferry Tour events.   

The Pacific Coast Amateur remains the West Coast’s elite-level event that is circled on all amateur golf calendars in North America. The championship has regularly received an “A” strength ranking by WAGR, as provided by the R&A and USGA. 


About the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship 

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf championships in North America. The first championship was held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio in 1901. After being played until 1911, The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 15 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association. 

Held on an annual basis since 1967, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada. 

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010). 

For more information on the championship, visit