Back to all posts

Siebers, Thoroughgood and Hatley selected for 2021 PNGA Morse Cup Team; finish tied for second

Ian Siebers of Bellevue, Wash., Nolan Thoroughgood of Victoria, B.C. and Reid Hatley of Hayden Lake, Idaho were selected to represent the Pacific Northwest Golf Association at this year’s Morse Cup team competition, which took place simultaneously with the 54th Pacific Coast Amateur Championship being held this week at Chambers Bay in University Place, Wash.

Hatley began yesterday’s first round, but had to withdraw after nine holes, citing a wrist injury, so for the remainder of the Morse Cup, it was just Siebers and Thoroughgood, with no room for error. They nearly pulled off the upset, with Thoroughgood’s birdie attempt on today’s final hole just sliding by. A birdie would have tied them for the lead.

PNGA Morse Cup Team (left to right): Nolan Thoroughgood and Ian Siebers (not pictured: Reid Hatley, who withdrew due to an injury).

They finished tied for second in the Morse Cup competition, at 8-under-par, one shot back of the team from the Southern California Golf Association.

The 2021 Pacific Coast Amateur is being held July 20-23, with the Morse Cup competition taking place during the first two days of the 72-hole competition. There are 15 teams in the competition, one from each of the 15 golf associations that make up the Pacific Coast Golf Association. Two of the top three scores from each team in rounds one and two of the championship counted for the Morse Cup portion of the event.

Meet the team:

Ian Siebers

  • Two-time PNGA Junior Boys’ Player of the Year (2018, 2019)
  • 2019 Junior America’s Cup individual champion
  • Selected to 2019 Junior Presidents Cup, leading U.S. team to victory
  • Rising sophomore on Duke University men’s golf team

Nolan Thoroughgood

  • Former member of Canadian National Team
  • 2017 Junior America’s Cup individual champion
  • At age 15, became youngest player to win BC Amateur
  • Rising senior on Oregon State University men’s golf team

Reid Hatley

  • 2019 Oregon Open champion
  • 2019 Washington Men’s Amateur champion
  • Named PNGA Men’s Mid-Amateur Player of the Year the past five consecutive years
  • Named WA Golf’s Men’s Mid-Amateur Player of the Year the past six consecutive years

(Note: Hatley withdrew during first round of the 2021 Pacific Coast Amateur, citing a wrist injury)

About the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf championships in North America. The first championship was held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio in 1901. After being played until 1911, The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 15 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association.

Held on an annual basis since 1967, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada.

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010).

For more information on the championship, visit