Back to all posts

Tibbits, Lake and Desmarchais selected for 2022 PNGA Morse Cup Team; finish tied for fourth

PNGA Morse Cup Team (left to right): Jackson Lake, Spencer Tibbits and Laurent Desmarchais.

Spencer Tibbits of Vancouver, Wash., Jackson Lake of Clovis, Calif. and Laurent Desmarchais of Longueuil, Quebec were selected to represent the Pacific Northwest Golf Association at this year’s Morse Cup team competition, which took place simultaneously with the 55th Pacific Coast Amateur Championship being held this week at Columbia Edgewater Country Club in Portland, Ore.

They finished tied for fourth in the Morse Cup competition, at 3-under-par. The team from the Northern California Golf Association won this year’s Morse Cup, finishing at 12-under-par.

The 2022 Pacific Coast Amateur is being held July 19-22, with the Morse Cup competition taking place during the first two days of the 72-hole competition. There are 15 teams in the competition, one from each of the 15 golf associations that make up the Pacific Coast Golf Association. Two of the top three scores from each team in rounds one and two of the championship counted for the Morse Cup portion of the event.

Meet the PNGA Morse Cup Team:

Spencer Tibbits

  • Played four years on the Oregon State University men’s golf team
  • His scoring average at OSU is the second-best in school history
  • Reached match play in the 2019 and 2020 U.S. Amateur Championships
  • Named the 2016 PNGA Junior Boys’ Player of the Year

Jackson Lake

  • A rising senior on the Oregon State University men’s golf team
  • Captain of his golf team all four years at Clovis (Calif.) High School
  • Qualified (with OSU teammate Sean Kato) for the 2021 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball

Laurent Desmarchais

  • Won the 2019 PNGA Men’s Amateur
  • Rising sophomore on the University of Tennessee men’s golf team
  • Member of the Canadian National Junior Team

 About the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf championships in North America. The first championship was held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio in 1901. After being played until 1911, The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 15 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association.

Held on an annual basis since 1967, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada.

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010).

For more information on the championship, visit