Date: August 16, 2021 — August 20, 2021

Course: Palouse Ridge Golf Club, Pullman, WA

Championship Details

Entry Fee: $175 (USD)

Entry Includes: One hosted practice round, two rounds of stroke play qualifying, match play rounds for the 32 players who qualify, tee gifts, range balls, lunch after both qualifying rounds, crystal awards for medalist and top eight finishers.

Entry Deadline: July 26, 2021

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who: (1) will not have reached their nineteenth birthday by midnight of August 20, 2021, (2) have an up-to-date USGA Handicap Index or Golf Canada Handicap Factor not exceeding 8.4, and (3) are members in good standing of a PNGA Member Association (BC Golf, IGA, OGA, WA Golf) or have received a Presidential Invitation based on National Ranking.

Field Limit: Field will be limited to the first 96 qualified entrants. Entries will be accepted according to the time of receipt of entry and entry fee in addition to exempt players and Presidential Invitees.

This championship runs concurrently with the PNGA Junior Girls’ Amateur, which has a field limit of 48. The PNGA reserves the right to modify either field limit to achieve a full field of 144 players.


  • Stroke Play: 36-hole stroke play to determine 32 qualifiers for match play. A tie for the last qualifier’s place will be decided immediately by a hole-by-hole play-off.

          Only the low 32 qualifiers will advance to match play

  • Match Play: A draw based on qualifying scores will be used. Ties in qualifying rounds will be decided by a blind draw, except that places of those participating in a play-off will be determined by performance in the play-off.

Practice Round: All players will be allowed one complimentary practice round prior to the championship.

Caddies: A player may provide his own caddie. Host club caddies will not be available.
EXCEPTION: A player’s caddie must not have reached their nineteenth birthday on the day in which they caddie.

Carts: The Local Rule prohibiting the use of motorized transportation as prescribed in Section 8 of the Committee Procedures is in effect.

As a general rule, players and their caddies must walk the course at PNGA Championships. But consistent with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), a disabled player or caddie may be permitted to use a golf cart as an accommodation to his or her disability. As required by the ADA, the PNGA will evaluate such requests on a case-by-case basis. The required form entitled Golf Cart Request Form (as well as additional important information for first time and subsequent requests for a cart) is available at the following link:

Exemptions: All past PNGA Junior Boys’ Amateur Champions. 2019 PNGA Junior Boys’ Amateur runner-up, Tommy Kimmell and semifinalist Logan Medcalf. The following 2020 Junior Boys’ Champions; William Bishop (BC Golf), Lucas Rynearson (IGA), Graham Moody (OGA), Ethan Evans (WJGA).

Lodging: The PNGA has negotiated the following discounted hotel rates for players and guests:

Best Western Plus University Inn
1516 Pullman Rd
Moscow, ID 83843
(208) 882-0550 – Mention the PNGA Junior Amateur when calling
Online Reservations
(12 minutes from Palouse Ridge Golf Club)

August 14, 2021
Double Queen Room: $269.00

August 15-16, 2021
Double Queen Room: $209.00

August 17-19, 2021
Double Queen Room: $269.00

Holiday Inn Express & Suites
1190 SE Bishop Blvd
Pullman, WA 99163
(509) 334-4447
Online Reservations
(9 minutes from Palouse Ridge Golf Club)
$239.00 + tax per night | Standard Double Queen

Courtyard by Marriott Pullman
1295 NE North Fairway Rd
Pullman, WA 99163
(509) 332-1500
Online Reservations
(2 minutes from Palouse Ridge Golf Club)
$189.00 – $209.00 per night | Two Queens

Residence Inn by Marriott Pullman
1255 NE North Fairway Rd
Pullman, WA 99163
(509) 332-4400
Online Reservations
(2 minutes from Palouse Ridge Golf Club)
$199.00 – $219.00 per night | Two Queens, Sofa Bed, Full Kitchen

Additionally, players can use OGA Travel SavingsIGA Travel Benefits, or WA Golf Rewards to search for discounted hotels in DuPont, WA. You will be prompted to login or create an account through your respective association using your GHIN #, which will allow a search of discounted hotels.

AJGA Performance Based Entry

Boys’ Champion – 4 Stars

Boys’ Runner-up & Semifinalists – 1 Star

Past Champions

Year Location Champion
2020 Canceled due to COVID-19
2019 Port Ludlow Golf Club Nate Plaster
2018 TimberStone Golf Course Drew Warford
2017 Sandpines Golf Links Drew Warford
2016 The Home Course Gabe Spach
2015 Wildhorse Resort Joshua Gliege
2014 Emerald Valley Golf & Resort Sam Warkentin
2013 Bear Mountain Resort Frank Garber
2012 Port Ludlow Golf Club Kevin Vigna
2011 Sunriver Resort Kevin Murphy
2010 Oakbrook Golf and Country Club Dominick Francks
2009 University of Idaho Golf Club Zach Wanderscheid
2008 Mill Creek Country Club William Holdridge
2007 Burley Municipal Golf Club Jens Bracht
2006 Port Ludlow Golf Club Eric Grimberg
2005 Homestead Farms Resort Andrew Yun
2004 Spokane Country Club Brad Blakley
2003 Glendoveer Golf Club Dustin Andres
2002 Dungeness Golf Course Reid Rader
2001 University of Idaho Golf Club Alex Prugh
2000 Beach Grove Golf Club Colin Gilliam
1999 Penticton Golf and Country Club Ryan Weber
1998 Pinecrest Golf Club Reid Hatley
1997 Andrew Douglas Skagit Golf and Country Club
1996 Rock Creek Country Club Anthony Arvidson
1995 Yellowstone Country Club Brian Nosler
1994 Penticton Golf and Country Club Michael Hastings
1993 Yakima Elks Golf and Country Club Stephen Smith
1992 Fairwood Golf and Country Club Mark Worthington
1991 Arrowhead Golf Club Jason Hryniuk
1990 Penticton Golf and Country Club Bryan McRee
1989 Fort Lewis Golf Club Peter Wooding
1988 Skagit Golf and Country Club Jim Reilly
1987 Clarkston Golf and Country Club Patrick Brownfield
1986 Portland Golf Club Tim Cruikshank
1985 Rainier Golf and Country Club Don Christensen
1984 Glendale Country Club Jim Strickland
1983 Gallagher’s Canyon Golf Resort Gregg Patterson
1982 Yakima Country Club Gregg Patterson
1981 Mt. Hood Golf Club Brad Leiken
1980 Everett Golf and Country Club Scott Geroux
1979 Vancouver Golf Club Todd Erwin
1978 Wenatchee Golf and Country Club John Bodenhamer
1977 Oswego Lake Country Club Storm Gleim
1976 Twin Lakes Golf and Country Club Fred Couples
1975 Olympia Country and Golf Club Jim Light
1974 Seymour Golf and Country Club Jon Heselwood
1973 Eugene Country Club John Ford
1972 Wenatchee Golf and Country Club Don Wiggins
1971 Rainier Golf and Country Club Richard Flink
1970 Marine Drive Golf Club Rocky Chapman
1969 Corvallis Country Club Jeff Ellis
1968 Walla Walla Country Club Craig Griswold
1967 Longview Country Club Dave Miller
1966 Eugene Country Club Arnold Billingsley
1965 Wenatchee Golf and Country Club Mike Spang
1964 Shaughnessy Golf and Country Club Doug Robb
1963 Tualatin Country Club Scott Smith
1962 Fircrest Golf Club Rob Ashman
1961 Yakima Country Club Ron Coleman
1960 Broadmoor Golf Club Bruce Richards
1959 Capilano Golf and Country Club Larry Lee
1958 Walla Walla Country Club Larry Lee
1957 Tualatin Country Club Bill Warner
1956 Tacoma Country and Golf Club Tom Minger
1955 Tacoma Country and Golf Club Ted Puetz