Back to all posts

122nd PNGA Men’s and Women’s Amateurs being held this week

Tacoma, Wash. – The 122nd playing of the PNGA Men’s and Women’s Amateur Championships will both be held this week, with the Men’s being conducted at Wine Valley Golf Club in Walla Walla, Wash., and the Women’s at Tacoma Country and Golf Club. Both championships are being administered by the Pacific Northwest Golf Association.

Each championship will consist of 36 holes of stroke-play qualifying held on July 8-9, followed by a cut with the low players advancing to single-elimination match play. Each match will be contested over 18 holes, with the exception of the final match, which will be played over 36 holes. The Women’s final match will be held on Friday, July 12, and the Men’s final match will be held on Saturday, July 13.

Men’s Championship Links:

Women’s Championship Links:

First held in 1899, these two championships are among the oldest amateur golf championships in the world. Players in the Men’s will compete for the Macan Cup, which is named after legendary golf course architect A.V. Macan, a member of the Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Fame and winner of this championship in 1913.

Past champions in the Men’s include names such as Tiger Woods, Jeff Quinney, Ben Crane, Jeff Coston, Nick Flanagan, Jim McLean and Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Famers Chandler Egan, Harry Givan, Jack Westland, Bud Ward and George Holland, among many others.

For the Women, this will be first time that the winner of the championship will earn an exemption into this year’s U.S. Women’s Amateur, to be held August 5-11 at Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Okla. This opportunity has led to an exceptionally strong field in this year’s PNGA Women’s Amateur.

Past champions in the Women’s include Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Famers who made up the Golden Age of female golfers in the Northwest such as JoAnne Carner, Jo Ann Washam, Pat Lesser Harbottle, Edean Ihlanfeldt, Violet Pooly Sweeney, Marcia Fisher, and Betty Jean Hulteng, among others. Past champions also include many others who would later go on to the LPGA Tour, such as Jimin Kang, Peggy Conley, Ruth Jessen and Shirley Englehorn.

The PNGA Men’s and Women’s Amateur Championships are among the 11 major, regional, amateur championships for men, women, juniors, and seniors conducted annually by the PNGA throughout the Northwest.

About the Pacific Northwest Golf Association

The PNGA was founded on February 4, 1899. It is a 501c3 charitable, international, amateur golf association dedicated to preserving the true spirit of golf by supporting its member associations, conducting quality championships, and promoting activities beneficial to golfers in the Pacific Northwest. The PNGA remains committed to being a truly regional organization providing benefits and support to its member associations throughout the Northwest.