Back to all posts

PNGA Women’s Amateur and Mid-Amateur Championships to be held at Salishan Golf Links

Gleneden Beach, Ore. – The 120th PNGA Women’s Amateur and 20th PNGA Women’s Mid-Amateur championships are set to be contested July 11-15 at Salishan Golf Links in Gleneden Beach, Ore.

Salishan Golf Links

Both championships are being held concurrently and are conducted by the Pacific Northwest Golf Association (PNGA).

Each championship begins with 36 holes of stroke-play qualifying on July 11-12, followed by 18-hole single-elimination match play, with the final match for each being contested on Friday, July 15. The Women’s Amateur will have a 36-hole final match, and the Mid-Amateur final match will be contested over 18 holes.

Championship links

Women’s Amateur:

Women’s Mid-Amateur:

Last year, Mary Scott Wolfe of Beaverton, Ore. won the Women’s championship 3&2 over Cassie Kim of Yakima, Wash. In the Mid-Amateur championship, Amanda Jacobs of Portland, Ore. won 1 up over Jacqueline Bendrick of Mercer Island, Wash. Both players are in the field again this year.

Players to watch for this year in the PNGA Women’s Amateur:

  • Mary Scott Wolfe of Beaverton, Ore. – defending champion, reigning PNGA Women’s Player of the Year, rising junior on Gonzaga University women’s golf team.
  • Ellie Slama of Salem, Ore. – three-time PNGA Player of the Year, three-time Oregon Amateur champion, just finished her senior season on Oregon State women’s golf team.
  • Angela Arora of Surrey, B.C. – medalist at 2021 PNGA Women’s Amateur, member of Golf Canada’s National Junior Squad, runner-up in 2018 PNGA Junior Girls’ Amateur.
  • Kennedy Knox of Normandy Park, Wash. – reigning PNGA Junior Girls’ Player of the Year, 2021 Washington Women’s Amateur champion, 2021 PNGA Junior Girls’ Amateur champion, rising sophomore on University of Washington women’s golf team.

Players to watch for in the PNGA Women’s Mid-Amateur:

  • Amanda Jacobs of Portland, Ore. – defending champion and four-time winner of this championship (2014, 2016, 2018, 2021), four-time PNGA Women’s Mid-Amateur Player of the Year (2015, 2016, 2017, 2021)
  • Jacqueline Bendrick of Mercer Island, Wash. – Finished runner-up in last year’s championship, last month she won the Washington Women’s Mid-Amateur for the second straight year.
  • Gretchen Johnson of Portland, Ore. – 2019 champion, two-time PNGA Women’s Mid-Amateur Player of the Year (2018, 2019).

First held in 1899, the PNGA Women’s Amateur Championship is one of the oldest amateur golf championships in the world. Past champions include Pacific Northwest Golf Hall of Famers who made up the Golden Age of female golfers in the Northwest such as JoAnne Carner, Jo Ann Washam, Pat Lesser Harbottle, Edean Ihlanfeldt, Violet Pooly Sweeney, Marcia Fisher, and Betty Jean Hulteng, among others. Past champions also include many others who would later go on to the LPGA Tour, such as Jimin Kang, Peggy Conley, Ruth Jessen and Shirley Englehorn.

The PNGA Women’s Amateur and Mid-Amateur are two of 11 major, regional, amateur championships for men, women, juniors, and seniors conducted annually by the PNGA throughout the Northwest.

About the Pacific Northwest Golf Association

The PNGA was founded on February 4, 1899. It is a 501c3 charitable, international, amateur golf association dedicated to preserving the true spirit of golf by supporting its member associations, conducting quality championships, and promoting activities beneficial to golfers in the Pacific Northwest. For more than a century, the Association has been a pioneer in developing competitions and services and its mission has grown and evolved. Today, the PNGA remains committed to being a truly regional organization providing benefits and services to its members and member clubs throughout the Northwest.