Back to all posts

Team OGA wins 16th PNGA Lamey Cup

Twin Falls, Idaho – Team Oregon Golf Association (OGA) pulled away in today’s Singles matches to win the 16th PNGA Lamey Cup, held this week at Blue Lakes Country Club in Twin Falls, Idaho.

Team OGA, winners of the 16th PNGA Lamey Cup

This is the eighth title for Team OGA in the 16-year history of the matches, which is a Ryder Cup-style competition featuring the finest 48 amateur golfers among the member golf associations that comprise the Pacific Northwest Golf Association – British Columbia Golf, Idaho Golf Association, Oregon Golf Association and Washington Golf.

Finishing second was Team WA Golf with 12.5 points, while Team BC Golf finished third with 11.5 points and Team IGA finished fourth with 9.5 points.

Championship Links:

After yesterday’s Four-Ball and Foursomes matches, Team OGA had begun today’s Singles matches tied with Team WA Golf, both with seven points. Team BC Golf and Team IGA were tied with five points each.

In today’s final day of play, Team OGA won six Singles matches and took half-points in three other matches.

“We’re very excited,” said Brent Whittaker, the OGA’s senior director of tournament operations, filling in as captain of Team OGA for OGA President Vincent Johnson, who was here for the first day of play. “It’s been five years since our last win, and it feels pretty good to take the trophy back to Oregon.”

“It’s great that we can have these matches, and compete as a team,” Whittaker said. “The competition and camaraderie is something we look forward to every year. Blue Lakes has been an amazing venue this year.”

Whittaker also said this year was one of the more competitive matches, with any of the four teams having a chance as today’s Singles matches began. “That really made it fun,” he said. “For the players, and for the event itself.”

Throughout the history of the event, Team OGA has now won eight times, Team WA Golf has won four times, BC Golf has won three times and Team IGA has won once.

For a complete roster of players for all four associations who competed in this year’s PNGA Cup, please click here.

The PNGA Lamey Cup was created in 2006 by past PNGA President Dr. Jack Lamey as a way of continuing the friendship and partnership of the region’s member associations under the PNGA umbrella – British Columbia Golf, Idaho Golf Association, Oregon Golf Association and Washington Golf. With Dr. Lamey’s passing in December 2019, the event and its perpetual trophy have been named after him.

The annual Ryder Cup-style team competition is held on a rotating basis throughout the region, with this year’s event being held in Idaho and hosted by the Idaho Golf Association.

The current president of each association served as the captain of their respective teams. For the team of host Idaho Golf Association, Kris Fenwick was captain; Vincent Johnson captained the Oregon Golf Association team; Mike Kemppainen captained the Washington Golf team; and Michael Cook filled in for President Greg Moody to captain the team from British Columbia Golf.

Each association selected a 12-person team consisting of eight men and four women. The representation included four mid-amateur men of 25 years of age or older, two men of 40 years or older, two senior men of 55 years or older, two mid-amateur women of 25 years or older and two senior women of 50 years or older.

The two-day competition includes four-ball and foursome matches the first day and singles matches on the second and final day. With three matches for each player, the championship allows each competitor to compete against players from each of the other associations. With both men’s and women’s scores used to determine the team result, it is the only known event of its kind in the U.S.

About the Pacific Northwest Golf Association

The PNGA was founded on February 4, 1899. It is a 501c3 charitable, international, amateur golf association dedicated to preserving the true spirit of golf by supporting its member associations, conducting quality championships, and promoting activities beneficial to golfers in the Pacific Northwest. For more than a century, the Association has been a pioneer in developing competitions and services and its mission has grown and evolved. Today, the PNGA remains committed to being a truly regional organization providing benefits and services to its members and member clubs throughout the Northwest.