Back to all posts

Diana Murphy Nominated for Second Term as USGA President

Diana Murphy has been nominated to serve a second one-year term as the 64th president of the United States Golf Association by the USGA Nominating Committee, as the organization prepares for its 123rd year of service to the game of golf.


In addition, there are three newly nominated candidates for the 15-member Executive Committee: Thomas Barkin, Stephen Beebe and William Siart. Their collective experience encompasses expertise in strategic planning and nonprofit leadership, as well as a passion for environmental sustainability. If elected at the USGA’s Annual Meeting on Feb. 4, 2017 in Washington, D.C., they will replace retiring members William Fallon, Malcolm Holland and Asuka Nakahara.

“Bill, Asuka and Malcolm have shared their time and experience to help guide the USGA through one of the most pivotal strategic planning periods in our history,” said Murphy. “I have been privileged to work with them and all of the successful professionals with such diverse talents who have advanced the game and the USGA’s leadership of it. Volunteers have always been at the heart of our mission, and we appreciate all they have done and will continue to do.”

The committee also nominated Mark Newell, a four-year Executive Committee member, as president-elect. The new officer position replaces the role of vice president eliminated in 2016, and supports succession planning for future association leadership. Newell, who served as USGA general counsel in 2011-12, currently chairs the USGA Rules of Golf Committee. He has focused significant efforts on a multi-year Rules modernization project led by the USGA and The R&A, and he continues to provide support and leadership toward the development of a world handicap system.

Current officers Sheila Johnson and George Still have been nominated to continue their service as secretary and treasurer, respectively. The eight committee members nominated to continue their service are: Michael Bailey, Stuart Francis, Thomas Hough, Robert Kain, Martha Lang, Gregory Morrison, Mark Reinemann and Clifford Shahbaz.

In addition, Robert Weber has been nominated to serve a second term as USGA general counsel.

The full Nominating Committee report will be distributed to USGA member clubs by Dec. 10, 2016, along with the complete schedule of the Annual Meeting, to be held Feb. 4 at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Washington, D.C. The day-long event will culminate in the USGA Annual Service Awards Dinner, which recognizes achievements by industry professionals and volunteers who have served the game of golf.

For more information on current members of the USGA Executive Committee, visit