Back to all posts

Raza, Wu, Garber to represent PNGA at 2017 Morse Cup

Sulman Raza of Eugene, Ore., Dylan Wu of Medford, Ore., and Frank Garber of Kirkland, Wash. will represent the Pacific Northwest Golf Association at this year’s Morse Cup team competition, which will take place simultaneously during the 51st Pacific Coast Amateur Championship held at Chambers Bay in University Place, Wash.

From L to R: Sulman Raza, Dylan Wu and Frank Garber

The 2017 Pacific Coast Amateur will be held July 18-21, with the Morse Cup taking place the first two days of the 72-hole competition. The best two of three scores from each team will count for the Morse Cup portion of the event.

Raza just graduated from the University of Oregon, where he played four years on the men’s golf team. In 2016, Raza sank the putt in the playoff to help the Ducks win the NCAA D1 national team title. He won the 2017 Oregon Duck Invitational, and last week finished tied for seventh at the Sahalee Players Championship.

Wu is a rising senior at Northwestern University, where he is continuing his standout play on the men’s golf team. After his junior year he was a unanimous First Team All-Big Ten selection, won the Les Bolstad Award for low scoring average in the Big Ten Conference, and was the team leader in scoring average. He was also a semifinalist for the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award. He finished fourth in the 2017 Jones Cup Amateur, and runner-up in the 2016 Windon Memorial.

Garber will be a senior next year on the University of Washington men’s golf team. He was a four-time WJGA State Champion and two-time WIAA 3A State high school champion. He was named the 2013 PNGA Junior Boys’ Player of the Year, and twice named the WSGA Junior Boys’ Player of the Year (2012, 2013).

About the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf championships in North America. The first tournament was held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio in 1901. After being played until 1911, The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 15 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association.

Held on an annual basis since 1967, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada.

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010).

For more information on the championship, visit Spectators and media are welcome to attend with entrance being free of charge.

Media requests, please contact:

Christopher McGrath
Media and Recruiting Director

[email protected]


@pacificcoastam | #paccoast