Date: August 29, 2022 — September 2, 2022

Course: Jug Mountain Ranch, McCall, ID

Championship Details

Entry Fee: $265 (USD)

Entry Includes: One hosted practice round, two rounds of stroke play qualifying, match play rounds for the 32 players who qualify, power cart for stroke play rounds, tee gift, range balls, crystal awards for medalist and top eight finishers.

Entry Deadline: Monday, August 8, 2022

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who: (1) will have reached their fortieth birthday by August 29, 2022, (2) have an up-to-date USGA Handicap Index or Golf Canada Handicap Factor not exceeding 8.4, and (3) are members in good standing of a PNGA Member Association (BC Golf, IGA, OGA, WA Golf) or have received a Presidential Invitation.

Field Limit: Field will be limited to 72 qualified entrants. At the close of entry, the field of 72 will be filled by the lowest USGA Handicap Indexes and Golf Canada Handicap Factors in addition to exempt players and Presidential Invitees.


  • Stroke Play: 36-hole stroke play to determine 32 qualifiers for match play. A tie for the last qualifier’s place will be decided immediately by a hole-by-hole play-off.

    Only the low 32 qualifiers will advance to match play

  • Match Play: A draw based on qualifying scores will be used. Ties in qualifying rounds will be decided by a blind draw, except that places of those participating in a play-off will be determined by performance in the play-off.

Practice Round: All players will be allowed one complimentary practice round prior to the championship.

Caddies: A player may provide his own caddie. Host club caddies will not be available.

Carts: Carts are mandatory for this championship. Fees for stroke play are included in the entry fee. Fees for match play will be paid to the golf shop for $20 per seat/day on the day of rental.

Exemptions: All past PNGA Men’s Master-40 Amateur Champions; 2021 PNGA Men’s Master-40 Amateur runner-up, Craig Larson; semifinalists, Erik Hanson and Darren Slackman. Other exempt players: Tom Brandes, Craig Doell, Darren Kuhn and Dusty Schmidt.

Lodging: The PNGA has negotiated the following discounted hotel rates for players and guests:

Holiday Inn Express McCall
210 N. 3rd Street
McCall, ID 83638
(208) 634-4700
Online Reservations
$179 + Tax | 1 King Bed
$189 + tax | 2 Queen Beds

Performance Points

Performance Points breakdowns are provided by each association. Please use the links below to find the Performance Points for your event.

Past Champions

Year Location Champion
2022 Jug Mountain Ranch Jesse Hibler
2021 Wildhorse Resort & Casino Jesse Hibler
2020 Salishan Golf Links Tom Brandes
2019 Wine Valley Golf Club Jeff Strickland
2018 Silvies Valley Ranch Darren Kuhn
2017 Salish Cliffs Golf Club Erik Hanson
2016 Bear Mountain Golf Club Dana Christianson
2015 Meadow Springs Country Club Erik Hanson
2014 Prospector Course at Suncadia Nate Hair
2013 Brasada Ranch Bill Winter
2012 Wildhorse Resort and Casino Bob Christensen
2011 Wenatchee Golf and Coutry Club Kevin PomArleau
2010 Creekside Golf Club Erik Hanson
2009 Talking Rock Resort and Quaaout Lodge Bob Burton
2008 The Home Course Chris Maletis
2007 Moses Lake Golf and Country Club Erik Hanson
2006 Wildhorse Resort and Casino Bob Burton
2005 Pumpkin Ridge Golf Club Bill Winter
2004 Wenatchee Golf and Country Club Ken Wade
2003 Oakbrook Golf and Country Club Paul Houvener
2002 Hidden Lakes Golf Resort Greg Ott
2001 Moses Lake Golf and Country Club John Bracken
2000 Mill Creek Country Club Jim Sparkman
1999 Bellingham Golf and Country Club Fred Urquhart
1998 Tualatin Country Club Kirk Smith
1997 Moses Lake Golf and Country Club Scott Masingill
1996 Eugene Country Club Chris DeGrazia
1995 Quilchena Golf and Country Club Fred Urquhart
1994 Sun Willows Golf Club Kent Myers
1993 Shadow Hills Country Club Dr. Jack Lamey
1992 Quilchena Golf and Country Club Dr. John Harbottle
1991 Manito Golf and Country Club Jim Sparkman
1990 Sun Willows Golf Club Rick Weihe
1989 Sudden Valley Golf and Country Club Clint Names
1988 Bend Golf and Country Club Mike Sieverson
1987 Vancouver Golf Club Tom Hunter
1986 Overlake Golf and Country Club Tom Perry
1985 Rogue Valley Country Club Scotty McEachern
1984 Sahalee Country Club Tony Kahmann
1983 Tualatin Country Club George Mack
1982 Spokane Country Club Tom Perry
1981 Glendale Country Club Dick Booth
1980 Royal Colwood Golf and Country Club Dick Booth
1979 Eugene Country Club Tom Flynn
1978 Tacoma Country and Golf Club Tom Flynn
1977 Yakima Country Club Tom Flynn
1976 Portland Golf Club Buzz Edmonds